Kingdom of Ash

Kingdom of Ash

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
20
5
2
Aelin Galathynius's epic journey from salt mine slave to king's assassin comes to an unforgettable, dramatic conclusion in this highly anticipated finale to Sarah J. Maas's New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series! Captured by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin is trapped inside an iron box in a secret location, with seemingly no hope for escape. As she endures months of torture, her friends scatter to different fates. Without Aelin to protect them, soldier Aedion and shapeshifter Lysandra need to defend their homeland at all costs. Also left to forge their own paths in order to change history are Chaol, the witch Manon, and the golden boy Dorian-while Aelin's mate, the fae male Rowan, searches the world over for his lost love. As Aelin gathers the strength to save herself and fight the ultimate battle of her life, all of their destinies hang in the balance. Some ties will bond even tighter together, others will be severed forever, and mysteries will be revealed in this action-packed, heart wrenching series finale.
Publisher: London : 2018. Bloomsbury YA,
London : 2018. Bloomsbury YA,
ISBN: 9781408872918
Branch Call Number: YF MAAS

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
s
SpeedyLlama
Jan 21, 2019

This is a good book, but not one I wish Sarah J. Maas would have finished off the series with. The writing style was a little bit different than the other books (I normally read in bed. The way Maas writes will normally make me fall asleep really quickly, but this one kept me up reading.) However, I wish it didn't end the way it did. Also, one thing I don't understand is Maas's desire to ship everyone together. I mean, every single character on their side either died or found a romantic partner. Not everyone should somehow fall in love with each other! Also, the book starts out being incredibly confusing, since everyone is in a different place, doing different things. So I would be reading, and then they switch to a different perspective. Maas writes a few chapters about that. Then to a different one. Then another different one. It takes like a hundred pages to return to the POV that you started on, and by then, you've forgotten almost everything that is going on. I also feel like we really didn't need such frequent updates on Aedion and the war. It's like, oh we left the POV about Aelin, you're worried she might be dying, and now you have to read two chapters on Aedion, and how he and his troops are marching through the snow. I'm also pretty sad that the series is over. Throne of Glass has been one of the greatest series I have ever read, with Aelin/Celena being one of my role models (well sort of. I think my parents would disapprove of having an assassin as my role model).

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jan 17, 2019

I absolutely have no words to describe this... words won't do it justice. This book was painful to read not because it was bad, but because it was so beautifully written. Descriptions, settings and everything was so vivid one could be right there in the scene, which I loved. The only thing I was uncomfortable with was the outcome, which seemed almost too "preserved" as if the author couldn't make up her mind. But all in all, I am glad to have walked this path with other Maas fans to this very end. A definite recommend!! 5/5. @Siri of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

l
Linyarai
Jan 17, 2019

I was a bit lost at first, too many characters were thrown at me and it had been too long since I had read the previous books, so I had to Google the plots of the rest of the series. After that this book flew by, it was a little bit predictable but still really exciting. More adult content then I remember previously, though.

PimaLib_ChristineR Jan 09, 2019

This book is good. Really good. Like you wouldn't know the person who wrote the first one and this one were the same person. Maas has really backed off on the uncomfortably graphic sex scenes/discussions and there are only two--count 'em TWO-- episodes of toes being curled. Instead Maas has played to her strong suit here giving us nearly a thousand pages of action. If I had to make a comparison, I would say that it reminded me of Tolkien's Return of the King. There are battles on every front and the action is non-stop. Aelin has become defined by her actions instead of being defined as one thing while she does another. In fact, nearly all of the characters have developed nicely (other than Rowan, who still seems to be a warrior there to "worship" Aelin). These last two books in this series (Kingdom of Ash and Tower of Dawn) have renewed my hope in Maas when she is given time and a good editor to work with.

d
ddb883
Jan 07, 2019

Gondor...uh...I mean...Terrasen calls for aid! Light the fires!

There was a lot I loved in this book. And there was a lot that was a direct rip off of other, better series. Like the Black Jewels books which Maas just cannot stop stealing from.

Overall, a mostly satisfying end to an epic series. I love Chaol. And I love Manon and pretty much anything to do with the Thirteen and the Crochans.
Everyone else is...fine.

It was 400 pages too long, and most of that had to do with unnecessary and too neat pairings that Maas forced on us in "Empire of Storms" then had to be tortured and driven apart and then right back together for...drama? I guess?
Ugh.

Chapel_Hill_MarthaW Jan 06, 2019

This series is: too long; possibly too complicated; full of too many subplots; and yet, still, totally unputdownable. I hate that word, but it's totally accurate in this case. I found this to be a completely satisfying conclusion to the series that I think fans will probably really like, and I -- incredibly -- found myself wanting to go back and re-read the whole thing from start to finish now that it's complete. I don't think I actually will -- because who has time for that? -- but the temptation was still strong. Imaginative, escapist fun.

IndyPL_ShelbyP Dec 27, 2018

If you've read and enjoyed the rest of this series than you'll definitely enjoy reading this book. I love SJM's world building and love reading about her awesome characters. I had many things to be satisfied with (Lorcan & Elide!) and there were some pretty epic moments that I loved. However, there were a lot of technical problems with this book and it seemed like SJM had a hard time deciding how to end her series. My biggest gripe has to be her timeline. The whole series apparently takes place in just one year and it's just not feasible to me. SO MUCH HAPPENS in this series and some aspects would be more believable if the story took place over the course of a few years. There are also issues with timing in KoA itself because it's not clear off the bat with how much time has passed between Empire of Storms and the events that we keep reading about in each POV. I loved the ride. It's a great series but it's just a shame there's a lot of clumsy bits throughout.

p
Proctor92
Dec 19, 2018

This book was a headache to get through. Most of the book is just pages of needless detail about what EACH character is doing at every moment. If I never read descriptions of eye color, tattoos, or mates again it'll be too soon. I made a drinking game out of it... Honestly, I almost gave up 40 pages before it was over because I couldn't take it anymore. SJM really didn't want this one to end, and it shows. I have so many complaints, but I suppose this will suffice.

OPL_KrisC Dec 19, 2018

An epic conclusion to Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series. Although the book starts off a little slow, the battle scenes are action-packed and guaranteed to make you shed a tear or two. For fans of Kristin Cashore and Leigh Bardugo.

DBRL_BriannaD Dec 11, 2018

If you've stuck with Sarah J. Maas through this whole series, you will absolutely enjoy Kingdom of Ash. While I admit I was a bit dubious when I first started Throne of Glass, the books quickly grew on me. This is a completely satisfying conclusion! Without spoiling anything, I can tell you I was impressed at the tone of this book, and the way it was perfectly balanced between despair and hope. A great book and a great series, and I'm looking forward to seeing what Maas does next.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Dec 19, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

r
R002
Nov 13, 2018

R002 thinks this title is suitable for 15 years and over

b
Bookbirdy
Oct 23, 2018

Bookbirdy thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
brianjgilbert
Oct 14, 2018

brianjgilbert thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

r
red_wildfowl_5
Feb 14, 2018

red_wildfowl_5 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 71 and 1

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
mandyozz
Nov 17, 2018

And far away, across the snow-covered mountains, on a barren plain before the ruins of a once-great city, a flower began to bloom.

m
mandyozz
Nov 17, 2018

Once upon a time, in a land long since burned to ash, there lived a young princess who loved her kingdom …

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top