The Shifting Fog

The Shifting Fog

Book - 2006
Average Rating:
38
2
Rate this:
"A... murder mystery and romance set in the upper class environs of Edwardian England. Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again. Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could. Set as the war-shattered Edwardian summer surrenders to the decadent twenties, The House at Riverton is a thrilling mystery and a compelling love story"--Pub. description.
Publisher: Allen & Unwin,� 2006
ISBN: 9781741148008
1741148006
Branch Call Number: AF MORT
Alternative Title: The house at Riverton

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

t
tnscott
Sep 01, 2017

Excellent read. Love the story, the way it was written.....Morton is a new fav of mine!!!

j
juliawiklof
Aug 24, 2017

My own audiobook

m
marthabwaters
Jan 11, 2017

This is often touted as a good readalike for fans of Downton Abbey, and I do agree with that, but a warning: this book is sad. Given the topic (it traces the events leading up to the suicide of a young poet at a country house party in 1924), that shouldn't be terribly surprising, and yet still, a warning that the ending is a doozy. I finished it and just felt bummed. Having said that, it's an absolute page-turner from start to finish, and Morton is adept at bringing the Edwardian period and roaring 20s vividly to life. Fans of glamorous period pieces will enjoy this, but might want tissues at hand.

r
readerpat
Nov 03, 2016

I really loved this book and found it hard to put down. It is about a young woman who is making a movie about a rich family who lived on a big estate called Riverton in the early 1900's in the south of England. She goes to interview an old lady called Grace in a nursing home who worked as a maid there when she was 15 Lots of interesting characters, secrets and love affairs. I think Kate Morton is my favourite author.

s
s390325
Sep 07, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The themes and set-up reminded me of "The Lake House" which the author wrote later; however I think "The Lake House" is a better mystery and suspense story and has more characters that are interesting. There were also parts that reminded me of Downton Abbey. I wish they had gone into more detail about her grandson- I did think the ending was a bit abrupt. I like happy endings, so I wanted to hear more about when she found Alfred again, and her grandson recovering from his grief, at least more than just a mention. Her daughter Ruth was not a very fleshed-out character which is unfortunate because it would have been interesting to find out more about why she was the way she was.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 27, 2016

This novel was an amazing read from start to end. Kate Morton created wonderful characters and kept me guessing, “who did it?” throughout the entire story. The writing could be slow at times, but it made up for it in the amazing description of the house, the characters, and their relationships with one another. I especially loved how the flashbacks allowed me to see where the narrator, Grace, ended up later on in her lifetime. Unlike some other novels where I would usually find this confusing, the transitions from past to present in this book were very clear. The ending was set up perfectly, the secrets were kept well, and the surprises were delivered at the best times. The only thing that could have been improved was that the book could have been less slow paced at the beginning, but don't let that stop you from reading it because later on you will hardly be able to put the book down. Overall, this is one of my favourite books I have read and I would easily recommend it. 4.5/5 stars. - @allthestoriesaretrue of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

u
unexpressed
Jun 24, 2016

I really have enjoyed reading Kate Morton's books...except for this one. Characters and plot lines that went nowhere were frustrating, and I did not appreciate the abrupt ending.

l
lpreston214
Aug 11, 2015

Good book reminiscent of Downton Abbey. There are many secrets at Riverton both among the family and the staff below stairs. The story is told by a former housemaid now in her 90s. Dramatic events build and culminate at a garden party in 1924 with a disastrous and notorious death. Foreshadowing keeps drawing you onward through the draggy parts of the story.

y
young162
Jan 19, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this story. Have read other Kate Morton's books - my favourite was 'The Secret Keeper'. Ms Morton writes great stories and uses the English language to perfection - I love her metaphors - totally appropriate for the scene she is describing ! Highly recommend this author !

g
gusmcrae
Jan 15, 2015

I really, really enjoyed it. Every time I picked it up, I wanted to stay with it for hours (though sadly, time does not permit). The characters, setting, and plot are all intriguing. The story features the changing society brought about by WWI and an old lady who is reliving her memories of her life during those times. She holds a secret, one she's held for 70 years that is quite heartbreaking. The book reminds me of a blend of "Downton Abbey" (though without the witty humor), "Fried Green Tomatoes" (the movie version with Jessica Tandy as the little old lady with a story to tell), and even "Titanic" (again, the little old lady looking back on her younger years).

I gave it a 4.5 stars because there were a few elements of the story that I felt were a little rushed or not fully explored/explained. But all-in-all, I wish every book I picked up was this satisfying.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

f
Farouk_2
Dec 26, 2013

Farouk_2 thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

b
becker
May 22, 2010

becker thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top