Postwar

Postwar

A History of Europe Since 1945

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
8
A magisterial history of post-war Europe, in the tradition of Norman Davies' Europe: A History and Niall Ferguson's Empire. Tracing the story of post-war Europe and its changing role in the world, Judt's magnificent history of the continent of our times investigates the political, social and cultural history of Europe from the wreckage of post-war Europe to the expansion of the EU into the former Soviet empire. Judt's stress is on the continent as a whole, exploring both where the experiences of East and West had common features (in the late '40's, during 1968) and where they diverged. This, uniquely, is not a history of Western Europe, with the East tacked on; equally, it is not a political history with social and cultural developments hived off into appendices. Throughout Judt shows how political, social, cultural and popular cultural developments influenced each other. A masterly and definitive history of our continent in a crucial period of its history, Europe in our time.
Publisher: William Heinemann,� London : 2005
ISBN: 9780434007493
0434007498
Branch Call Number: ANF 940.55 JUDT
Characteristics: xv, 878 p. : ports., maps ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

z
zipread
Dec 29, 2015

Postwar: A History of Europe Since 1914 --- by --- Tony Judt
What an amazing book. A forced march through the history of Europe from the end of World War Two 2005. And what a history it has been: the rebuilding of Europe from the destruction of the War; laying the foundations for what was to become the European Union; the Cold War; the Communist occupation of western Europe; the fall of the Berlin wall; the de-Russification of eastern occupied Europe. This is an immense tome that covers what might appear to be a relatively short period of time in a relatively small part of the world. But the events here were constructive, they were a rebuilding that followed the most horrible world the world had experienced. Judt examines the economics, the culture, the trade as well as the people of this promising era. Well written and easily put down.

a
ahubbertz
Jan 16, 2015

Terrific and amazing.

jeanpg Feb 03, 2012

Excellent chronology of postwar European history with, as prior comments allude to, incredible scope & fascinating details interwoven seamlessly. Many interesting quotes also &, although lengthy, read extremely well (listened to in the MP3 format during daily commute).

g
georgepatrick
Nov 20, 2010

This is, quite simply, one of the greatest books I've read on modern history. Staggering in its scope, research and clarity. Anyone who passes up the chance of reading this masterpiece is crazy. No matter how much you think you know about Europe since 1945, I bet you'll learn a lot from this.

b
bokinney
Aug 09, 2010

This book is really long. But how could it not be? Its subject is simply the entire history of Europe since World War II. It's riveting and engaging, and full of fascinating details that you didn't learn in history class. If you enjoy "big history" books, or like trying to make sense of how things got to be the way they are, then this is for you.

2
21288004246712
Oct 20, 2008

lots of details

g
goglover
Jul 17, 2008

An excellent review of politics and communism in Eastern Europe and its impact on Western Europe in the post war period. Good understanding of the social dimension of the time as well.

c
Cabby
Dec 06, 2007

Finalist of the 2006 Pulitzer prize for non-fiction.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top