The Dry

The Dry

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
50
1
"Who really killed the Hadler family? Luke Hadler turns a gun on his wife and child, then himself. The farming community of Kiewarra is facing life and death choices daily. If one of their own broke under the strain, well ... When Federal Police investigator Aaron Falk returns to Kiewarra for the funerals, he is loath to confront the people who rejected him twenty years earlier. But when his investigative skills are called on, the facts of the Hadler case start to make him doubt this murder-suicide charge. And as Falk probes deeper into the killings, old wounds are reopened. For Falk and his childhood friend Luke shared a secret ... A secret Falk thought long-buried ... A secret which Luke's death starts to bring to the surface ..." - back cover.
Publisher: Sydney, NSW : 2016. Macmillan,
ISBN: 9781743548059
Branch Call Number: AF HARP

Opinion

From Library Staff

Australian crime novel by ex-journalist and new author, Jane Harper. "The Dry" is set in a small town after the shooting of three members of the Hadler family. A well deserved Winner of the Australian Book Industry Award in 2017 for General Fiction and now the film rights have been opti... Read More »

Returning to his hometown in a cloud of suspicion for a crime that happened while he was in highschool, Federal Police Officer Aaron Falk must try and solve a suicide/murder of one of Kiewarra's most popular residents.

February

Comment
LoganLib_JennyI Mar 08, 2017

A policeman is summoned back to his farming hometown to the funeral of murder/suicide victims he knew from his childhood. A classic whodunit with a gritty Australian flavour and a great plot driven by small town secrets.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

e
ednabw
Dec 17, 2018

The description of the Australian outback created a vivid backdrop that most readers will recognize as any small-town with its hierarchy of status, income and the prejudices and discrimination that come with it. The main character shows great strength by continuing to investigate despite his initial confusion and threats from residents he imagined were his friends. A great setting for a mystery read with well-developed characters. Good group discussion book.

The Dry is Jane Harper’s debut novel, set in a remote rural town in Australia. Immediately the story has an atmosphere radiating heat, tension and small-town secrets. It introduces Federal Agent Aaron Falk who was run out of town as a teen, returning to attend the funeral of his estranged best friend who’s killed his wife and son in a murder-suicide. I found myself engrossed in the town’s colourful residents, their past and their current tensions as they struggle in the grip of a severe drought that’s bringing their lives to the brink of ruin. Rich in Australian culture and interesting characters, it was hard to put the book down and the ending was both a surprise and a satisfying resolution. I’d highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good mystery or is into Liane Moriarty’s novels. (Submitted by Pippa)

l
leslie_d_
Nov 20, 2018

Jane Harper doesn’t mess around in the debut mystery of hers. She will convince you of any number of possibilities concerning the Hadlers and Ellie. It’s a pleasure trying to suss out the mystery and engage with the characters. And Harper writes some great characters, to include the setting. That viable initial sketch takes on greater nuance and meaning as you wonder just who these people both were and are.

Recommended for readers of Mysteries and Thrillers, especially not-so-gritty ones. Readers of Westerns. For those who like to read authors of other countries or stories set in other countries.

If I were to pair this with a film: The Dressmaker (2015) w/ Kate Winslet.

f
FlipFlop2
Oct 20, 2018

The book is well written and drew me in, however the solution to the puzzle did not work for me.

ArapahoeSarahD Oct 09, 2018

I am rarely so completely enthralled in a story. The tale of Agent Falk is one I will not soon forget. As soon as I finished this book, I wished for another story by Jane Harper only to realize she'd just released "Force of Nature". Both are must reads!!!

a
annekim9
Aug 25, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this beautifully crafted murder mystery set in a small Australian town. The author doesn't miss a beat with the creation of this story. It's hard to believe this is a first novel. I cannot wait to read her next book. Do not miss The Dry.

r
Rachelc24
Aug 13, 2018

good mystery.. I really enjoyed this book and the follow up. Forces of Nature. I recommend both.

7
7626dee
Aug 10, 2018

The atmosphere of the area is the dust bowl in 1930's America. The town is peopled by worn out people on the brink. I have always considered the Outback of Australia as the last Wild West type frontier, still firmly stuck in the last century and peopled by ghosts of the bad old days. This author will go far if this is her debut novel-great book.

v
ValinOR14
Jul 30, 2018

What a book! Sad. Mysterious. Twisty. Hot and arid. Loved the characters. In all honesty, when I started the book I wasn't sure I was going to love it. It didn't take long, however, before I was blown away. Read this book! You won't be sorry.

ArapahoeDiane Jul 11, 2018

I usually don't care for mysteries but I loved this book. I loved the way the present murder investigation led to also solving an old murder.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

v
Violet_Cheetah_131
Apr 01, 2017

Violet_Cheetah_131 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top