Before We Were Yours

Before We Were Yours

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
75
6
2
"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
Publisher: New York : 2017. Ballantine Books,
ISBN: 9780425284681
Branch Call Number: AF WING

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
LoganLib_Phoebe Jul 01, 2018

An extraordinary and shocking story of families torn apart. Based on true events this story tells of young Rill who lives by the river with her family in 1939, and present day politician's daughter Avery Stafford who must uncover her grandmother's secret before it is lost forever.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
x
XueyingMou
Jun 17, 2019

Awesome novel and I really love it. It tells us a story about granddaughter found out her grandma's secrets, and she also found who she really is and a husband during this journey. The story itself is sad, children who has family but were stolen by bad people and give to other families. I really love the ending, sisters could be together, and no more burdens to hold. They deserve to get united and share life. It's a book about relationship, friendship, self-knowing, and truth. Nothing could beat the truth.

r
RosaReads2
Jun 11, 2019

After finishing the book, the deceptively sweet looking cover now makes my heart hurt. This was a dual timeline story, but the historical narrative was the predominant tale. There were familial links between the two, but the contemporary timeline mostly served as a mystery-solving conduit. It also inserted a little unnecessary and overshadowed romance, since most readers will have been taken in by Rill's heartbreaking journey. A journey that piqued my history-loving mind and spurred some fact-finding of my own. This author did some amazing research and some creative writing with what she had to work with. It wasn't all heartbreak, though. As the two narratives finally converge, there was a sorely late, but satisfyingly welcome happy and emotional ending. Definitely, a story that will stay with me.

c
CarolynAnn4
Jun 03, 2019

I enjoyed this book even though the subject matter is quite awful at times. I did not know the news story that the book is based on and I believe it is something that definitely needed to be revealed. I felt that the author treated the horrible treatment of the children sensitively and, while she maintained the integrity of the awfulness of the story, she also wrote the story in a way that was captivating and engaging. Each chapter is told from the point of view of the two main characters: Avery is a politician's daughter brought up in proper society who discovers a mystery about her beloved grandmother who has early dementia; May is a 90 year old woman who was one of the children stolen and sold to adoptive parents by Georgia Tann of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage... a true scandal in the 30s & 40s.

h
hsunseri
May 18, 2019

4.36

m
mcdoff
May 07, 2019

Alicia highly recommended.

a
annagraceiaboni
May 02, 2019

This is an amazing read based on true events. I enjoyed this story very much.

s
snydes81
Apr 30, 2019

Gripping read and compelling story telling bringing to light the atrocities of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. I didn't know about this when I read the book, and appreciate this eye opening intro to the historic black market operation.

ArapahoeKati Apr 29, 2019

I can see why this historical fiction novel, based on some truth, has been getting rave reviews. Wingate can write a compelling story. Keep a box of tissues nearby as you get near the end.

l
Linyarai
Apr 23, 2019

I read this for the "True Crime Novel" part of my 2019 reading challenge. The Tennessee Children's Home Society was new to me and it was fascinating how Georgia Tann managed to pull off child kidnapping and illegal adoptions for so long, and in those numbers. The rest of the story I just found convenient, I didn't like the mixture between history and "present day".

IndyPL_BethanyA Apr 09, 2019

This book was a jolting introduction to the Tennessee Children's Home Society. While the story itself is fictional, it is based on Georgia Tann's countless illegal adoptions and kidnappings of kids over the first half of the twentieth century. The story alternated between present day and the past, and the two stories were woven together in a way that kept me interested until the end.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
x
XueyingMou
Jun 17, 2019

"No matter how much we may love the melody of a bygone day or imagine the song of a future one, we must dance within the music of today, or we will always be out of step, stumbling around in something that doesn't suit the moment."

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“We plan our days, but we don’t control them.” - p. 95

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“The argument ends where all arguments do—on the altar of compromise.” - p. 255

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“I learned that you need not be born into a family to be loved by one.” - p. 314

c
cknightkc
Oct 12, 2018

“A woman’s past need not predict her future. She can dance to new music if she
chooses. Her own music. - p. 317

ArapahoeMaryA Jun 13, 2017

I clench my teeth so hard the pain travels all the way to the top of my head. I'm glad for it - it's just a little ache and I know where it comes from. I can stop it anytime I want. The one in my heart is way bigger. I can't fix it no matter how hard I try. It scares me so much that I can't even breathe.

"…the love of sisters needs no words. It does not depend on memories, or mementos or proof. It runs as deep as a heartbeat; it is as ever present as a pulse.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
m
Mya614
Jan 20, 2018

Mya614 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

b
BRUCE PILCHER
Sep 26, 2017

BRUCE PILCHER thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at LCCL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top